fear

What would you do with your life if you knew you wouldn’t fail?

I’ve known the answer to this question, well, there are a few, but the main answer has always been: Design. Always, for as long as I can remember this has been what I am made of.

It took years to realize that “this” was what I should be doing. That it doesn’t have to be just for fun or within the parameters of my own home. All of these years choosing paint colors for other people and having chats over coffee about what to do with their space doesn’t have to be confined to my free time.

But there’s fear. There is the unknown. How do you even go about doing such a thing? Well, maybe I could intern after the kids are both in school, but there will be fresh (young) faces in design school that will surely take those type of positions. Maybe I could work at West Elm? No matter how many ideas there were there was never an answer that really suited the question.

One day in March, a friend of a friend posted on FB that she had just purchased a house and had no idea where to start, my name was mentioned. We chatted, she became my first client. Then she became my friend and somewhere in the process of this she convinced me that this was my calling and the time was now. I was stunned, and excited and no way, no way in hell can I start my own business. I know nothing about taxes or shit, design! I have taken exactly 0 hours and 0 minutes of class on this topic. I am Ferris Buehler playing the clarinet! “Never had one lesson!” Where do I even start.

Somehow, at some point, the questions just faded away and it was clear to me. Jump in with both feet. Just go! I put the questions out of my mind and met with a graphic designer and a copy writer (both friends! I’m SO LUCKY)  together over the course of a few months we’ve created Haute House Design. I have business cards and a website and a fb page and a twitter handle and holy mother – here I am!

I don’t know if I’ll be a success or not.  But today, this year, 2012 is the year I decided to believe in myself and that is pretty damn awesome!

Haute House Design

Facebook

Twitter

7 thoughts on “fear

  1. If you ever want someone to talk about your company’s marketing plan, I’d love to help you brainstorm. I’m so crazy proud of you!

Leave a Reply

