2011: Holy Crap! That was a fast one.

Man, 2011. This year was crazy fast, wasn’t it? This was without a doubt the hardest year of my life and all because of my mental health. It’s trickle down has been vast and serious and while I’m well now, again, for a while, I hope, and I made it through, and it was a doozy.

1. What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before?

Dropped Nate off at school! I don’t know how he’s become so grown up but here we are! Pre-school.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?


Yes and no. Isn’t that always the answer? I did eventually get into a great fitness routine and am in some serious shape, maybe the best of my life but I’m still heavy. I didn’t run that 11 miles on November 11th, but I ran 5 and that’s damn fine with me.  I did a ton of things from my list but some I never even thought of. And yes, I will make a new one for this year along with my to-do!

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?


A few great internet ladies and my friend Darci, she didn’t give birth but she did bring home a brand new baby just this week! Adoption is a magical thing.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

My uncle Steve. He’d been ill for 9 years and for most of those years he was waiting for a liver. Sadly, he never got one. He is in a lot of my dreams, giggling and calling my kids little shits, just like he did when he was here.

5. What countries did you visit?

None.
 And same answer for next year. STOP ASKING THIS YOU PRETENTIOUS MEME!

6. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?

A better, healthier lifestyle. I’ve gotten really lazy about feeding the kids the same things all of the time and then picking at what they don’t eat and calling it a meal. I want to plan better and have more whole, raw and less processed foods. So, I guess, better physical health.

7. What dates from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

This year was pretty uneventful for big exciting stuff but Ben’s first birthday in Michigan was really fun.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?


Deciding to take care of my whole self.. after I got my head in order I started working on my body. My scale may hate me but I feel amazingly healthy.

9. What was your biggest failure?

I refuse to label anything I did this year as a failure. Bumps in the road are part of life.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Obvsly, I lost my marbles. I had a few colds but nothing serious which is pretty great considering I’ve been awake for about 18 months.

 11. What was the best thing you bought?

All of the things that brought me back. My hospital stay, ongoing therapy, meds, etc! Money well spent.

12. Where did most of your money go?

All of the boring places and a few family trips.

13. What did you get really excited about?

The blathering, Ben’s 1st birthday, Nate starting school, feeling the sun on my face after a long cold winter.

 

14. What song will always remind you of 2011?

Falling, Florence + The Machine, it’s a love song but to me it’s about something completely different. Sometimes I wish for falling, I wish for the release, wish for falling through the air to give me some relief. because falling’s not the problem, when I’m falling I’m at peace, it’s only when I hit the ground it causes all the grief. —-I’m not scared to jump, I’m not scared to fall, if there were no place to land I wouldn’t be scared at all.

I love this song so much.

15. Compared to this time last year, are you:


– happier or sadder?thinner or fatter?richer or poorer? HAPPIER! Same. Richer.

16. What do you wish you’d done more of?


Sleep, exercise, moisturize, read, take long hot baths.

17. What do you wish you’d done less of?


Well, eat. Duh!

18. How did you spend Christmas?

At home with my in-laws, stuffing our faces all the live-long day with amazing food and drinks. Watching the boys light up and buy into the whole shebang. It was fantastic, I was truly and completely happy. I only wish it had snowed.

 

19. What was your favorite TV program?

I don’t watch a lot of TV but I love Flipping out and Design Star. Those two I never miss. I watch The Office, Parks & Rec, 30 Rock,The big bang theory with Mike every week so lets say all of those! (which I do like!) I really miss having a girl-style drama, I miss Brothers and Sisters.

 

20. What were your favorite books of the year?

I didn’t read any real books this year outside of reading to my kids and my therapy workbooks. Reading is SO on the 2012 list!

21. What was your favorite music from this year?


Vampire Weekend (the kids favorite!) And pretty sure I said Flo last year but Florence + the machine. the b sides has been my fav and now I have her new one! Love!

22. What were your favorite films of the year?

I only saw a few in the theater, we get a ton on demand from the couch but, I have no idea. Did I have a fav?  I sure liked seeing Crazy Stupid Love, but hello, of course I did.

23. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I turned 34 this year and was at home in Washington!I went to my favorite Thai place with my best girl friends, sister and aunt.  And we had a little party at my in-laws house and Mike and I left the kids for the first time (!) and went to dinner, a movie and stayed in a hotel where I passed out on top of the bed, in my dress, within minutes of walking in the door. Best sleep I had all year! (sorry, babe, what did you expect?)

 

24. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

SLEEP! OMWORD SLEEP!  Forget money and more time with my family and more exercise and broccoli. I’m tired. Who knew that 4 year olds got up every single night, multiple times? And for going on 8 months? Okay, maybe a tranq gun…

 

25. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011?

Brave.  I’ve been having a lot more fun getting dressed. Despite the my current size, I mean, my boobs aren’t going to look smaller without a necklace so why not wear one, right? I know that I don’t have to be perfect to feel cute, and when I feel cute I am! I’m the only one who cares or knows that I’m packing some extra weight, and dressing like a wallflower makes me feel sad. No sad! No more!

26. What kept you sane?

Well, there was NO sanity until about July…. but my meds, my med manager and my therapist. But, me, too. I’ve done a lot of very hard work this year and I am totally taking credit for where I am now!

 

27. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011.


This isn’t a cut and dry answer but I’ve learned the difference between my personality and symptoms of illness.  A lesson that I hope will help me in the long run.

I’ve got big plans for great health and fun this coming year! BIG PLANS!

 

5 thoughts on “2011: Holy Crap! That was a fast one.

  1. Love it! So proud of you for all the work you’ve done this year. I know it’s not easy! And that’s HUGE – being able to differentiate between what’s Really You and what’s The Crazy. 2012 will be an amazing year for you, my dear!!

    Also, love the new pic of Nate on your blog header – clearly SO excited about CHRISTMAS 🙂

  2. I love this… so inspiring. Super proud of you and all the work you’ve done this year! I’m looking forward to seeing all that you’re going to create in 2012. 🙂

Leave a Reply

