The Plan

Okay, crazies, sounds like there are a few of us who are going to do this.

I am using Hal Higdon’s novice training program. First up is the 5K.

Week
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
Rest or run/walk
1.5 m run
Rest or run/walk
1.5 m run
Rest
1.5 m run
30- 60 min walk
2
Rest or run/walk
1.75 m run
Rest or run/walk
1.5 m run
Rest
1.75 m run
35-60 min walk
3
Rest or run/walk
2 mi run
Rest or run/walk
1.5 m run
Rest
2 MI run
40-60 min walk
4
Rest or run/walk
2.25 m run
Rest or run/walk
1.5 m run
Rest
2.25 m run
45-60 min walk
5
Rest or run/walk
2.5 m run
Rest or run/walk
2 m run
Rest
2.5 m run
50-60 min walk
6
Rest or run/walk
2.75 m run
Rest or run/walk
2 m run
Rest
2.75 m run
55-60 min walk
7
Rest or run/walk
3 m run
Rest or run/walk
2 m run
Rest
3 m run
60 min walk
8
Rest or run/walk
3 m run
Rest or run/walk
2 m run
Rest
Rest
5-K Race

This is an 8 week program for 3 miles. Personally, I know I won’t need 8 weeks, I will be good to move on at 4. Then I will move on to the 10k, this is where it gets a little harder. I’ve done this one before and hadn’t run since track in high school. I thought this was insane and there was no way that I’d be able to do it. But I was,I did. It rocked.

1
Stretch & strength
2.5 m run
30 min cross
2 m run
+ strength
Rest
40 min cross
3 m run
2
Stretch & strength
2.5 m run
30 min cross
2 m run
+ strength
Rest
40 min cross
3.5 m run
3
Stretch & strength
2.5 m run
35 min cross
2 m run
+ strength
Rest
50 min cross
4 m run
4
Stretch & strength
3 m run
35 min cross
2 m run
+ strength
Rest
50 min cross
4 m run
5
Stretch & strength
3 m run
40 min cross
2 m run
+ strength
Rest
60 min cross
4.5 m run
6
Stretch & strength
3 m run
40 min cross
2 m run
+ strength
Rest
60 min cross
5 m run
7
Stretch & strength
3 m run
45 min cross
2 m run
+ strength
Rest
60 min cross
5.5 m run
8
Stretch & strength
3 m run
30 min cross
2 m run
+ strength
Rest
Rest
10-K Race

This will get us to 6 miles, over half way. Yikes!  Next you can choose the 15K or the Half training. I’m leaning toward the Half with some lofty ambition that I will run the 11 on my birthday July, 11 and then run the Columbus Half in October. Saying this out loud makes me want to vomit. I’m honestly scared to death of running this thing but I’m going to look into it and see how late you can register. I will start this one at week 5. So, here’s the Half.

Week
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
Sun
1
Stretch &
Strengthen
3 m run
2 m run or cross
3 m run +
strength
Rest
30 min
cross
4 m run
2
Stretch &
Strengthen
3 m run
2 m run or cross
3 m run +
strength
Rest
30 min
cross
4 m run
3
Stretch &
Strengthen
3.5 m run
2 m run or cross
3.5 m run +
strength
Rest
40 min
cross
5 m run
4
Stretch &
Strengthen
3.5 m run
2 m run or cross
3.5 m run +
strength
Rest
40 min
cross
5 m run
5
Stretch &
Strengthen
4 m run
2 m run or cross
4 m run +
strength
Rest
40 min
cross
6 m run
6
Stretch &
Strengthen
4 m run
2 m run or cross
4 m run +
strength
Rest or easy run
Rest
5-K Race
7
Stretch &
Strengthen
4.5 m run
3 m run or cross
4.5 m run +
strength
Rest
50 min
cross
7 m run
8
Stretch &
Strengthen
4.5 m run
3 m run or cross
4.5 m run +
strength
Rest
50 min
cross
8 m run
9
Stretch &
Strengthen
5 m run
3 m run or cross
5 m run +
strength
Rest or easy run
Rest
10-K Race
10
Stretch &
Strengthen
5 m run
3 m run or cross
5 m run +
strength
Rest
60 min cross
9 m run
11
Stretch &
Strengthen
5 m run
3 m run or cross
5 m run +
strength
Rest
60 min cross
10 m run
12
Stretch &
Strengthen
4 m run
3 m run or cross
2 m run
Rest
Rest
Half Marathon

Scary, isn’t it? I havent even started yet! Ben isnt sleeping due to teething and Nate’s sick and I’m doing well just to keep up with the laundry and brush my teeth. BUT, I’m so motivated! So excited. So looking to rock being in my mid 30’s with 2 kids and taking care of myself and feeling good in my own body again. I’m ready to live again and I know that excercise is totally my gate-way drug to better living.

Sill in?

8 thoughts on “The Plan

  1. I am so excited for you! You can totally run 11 miles (or a half!) by November. If I weren’t pregnant, I would be training for the Mini Marathan here in Indy, which takes place in May. And I followed Hal Higdon’s program and though it to be very good.

    Good luck. You can do it!

  2. I look at this over my pregnant belly and wonder how I will do it. But once this kid is outta me, I am definitely going to try!

Leave a Reply

