2010 in review

1. What did you do in 2010 that you’ve never done before.

Went on a girl only vacation. Left Nate alone overnight. Traveled with a baby alone.

2.Did you keep your new year resolution and will you make more for next year?

Yes and sort of. My word for the year was nurture and I was to try to apply that to myself and to my family. This year was hard. Hard in every way a year can be when you spend the first 6 months of it pregnant and the second 6 months caring for a newborn. I might have been able to do better at times but we all made it out alive. I have another word for 2011 and a small list of things to work toward. I always will have. It’s not a new year without a new list.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

My sister, Heidi and obvs me. Our kids are just 4 months apart which is the 296th reason we should not be living 2500 miles apart.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Bruno, our english bulldog.  We lost him just 4 days after Ben was born and I’ve missed him everyday since.  Thankfully we didn’t lose any people but damn if that dog wasnt people to me.

5.What countries did you visit?

Phfttt- countries. Nada.  We plan on going to Canada this summer.  Next year (2012), I have big plans for next year. Mike and my 10th anniversary is in July, we’re shooting for an international cruise, either the mediterranean or South America.- I did make it to North Carolina, Chicago and Washington.

6. What would you like to have in 2011 that you didn’t have in 2010?

More.  More sleep, more exercise, more sanity,more balance, more space between my thighs.

 A babysitter that I can leave two kids with.

7. What dates of 2010 will be etched upon your memory, and why?

June 12th, when I shot a 5 lb premature  baby from my body.  June 16th- when B died.  June was one hell of a rollercoaster. October 21st- when I learned my best friend has cancer.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Treading water.  Learning that it is okay when I can’t get “it” all done in one day or even one week. To do my best and let the rest go.

9. What was your biggest failure?

I’m still fat. 15 lbs to go to my pre-baby weight. Damnit.

10. Did you suffer from injury or illness?

Yes, one fateful day in April I fell ass over tea kettle down the stairs at 25 weeks pregnant and landed in the hospital with a broken tailbone but an intact baby. (my tailbone is still broken! 3 Dr’s and no one can fix it.)

11.What was the best thing you bought?

My laptop- it was my birthday present but still. I’ve never had one before. Not being chained to a desk in the basement has honestly improved my life.

12.Whose behavior merited celebration?

My mom’s, she ran to be by my side when I went into labor. She was on a plane before I even had my epidural.  My sister was 6 weeks early so she knew better than I did what I was in for with Ben being 5 weeks premature she was in my room on the other side of the country as fast as she could run. That ment the world to me.

My sisters for taking care of my niece when she has 3 kids of her own because it’s what is best for the baby.

Mike’s, as always. For everything he does. Making dance-party mix’s of Nate’s favorite songs. For laughing when the baby craps all over him. For loving me. For working so hard to make our life what it is and still making time for us.

13. Whos behavior made you appalled or depressed?

This isn’t really blogging material. There is an answer to this, of course, but if I know anything it’s that even if the person you hate is trapped in a mine when they get out they WILL FIND YOUR BLOG. So, ehh, next question.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Hmm, mortgage, new furniture, a few trips, my 45 lb pregnancy weight gain and full hvac replacement.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Seeing Nate meet Ben for the first time.  Decorating Ben’s room. Christmas. My adult bedroom. Going to the Oprah show.

16.What song will always remind you of 2010?

I’m still trying to come up with this answer…. There’s got to be one.

17.Compared to this time last year, are you: a) happier or sadder? b) thinner or fatter? c) richer or poorer?

a. both. I’m doing great but knowing that Ben is my last babe has me a bit sad and often. Packing up clothes to donate, making his food, waiting on his first teeth.It’s all a bunch of last firsts. While I’m in a good place with our family size there is something a little sad knowing that part of your life is coming to a close.

b. fatter 

c. richer 

18.What do you wish you’d done more of?

I wish I had more date’s with Mike. It’s been a pretty quiet year in the couple department. 

 19.What do you wish you’d done less of?

Eat. My word the eating. (It’s all the Pioneer Woman’s fault with the butter and the cream and the GOOD!) Bitch about my first world problems on FB or Twitter.

 20.  How did you spend Christmas?

At home with my boys. Christmas is hard for me. I always want to be two places at once which I guess is what happens when you’re far from your family.  I cooked huge meals, we danced and read christmas books and watched christmas movies and baked cookies for santa and just everything I could cram into 2 days that would entertain the tot we did. It was perfect. I can’t wait to do over and over and over again. 

21.Did you fall in love?

Oh boy, did I. Benjamin, my sweet boy who finally sleeps and has stopped screaming his fool head off has turned into a pretty mellow little guy. I cannot get enough of him. These kids, its like there’s not enough of me to wrap around them, I can’t hold them close enough or hard enough. Being a mom can be soul sucking to be sure but it can also fill me up like nothing else. The giggles and the I love you’s. It is so good. 

22.What was your favorite TV program?

Lost, even though I was unmoved by the finale.

 

23.  Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Nope.  

24.  What was the best book you read?

I said last year that I wanted to read some classics, I didn’t. I did read more pink fluffy chick lit.

 I loved It sucked and then I cried (dooce) Heather Armstrong. And The Help. I read a few others but those are the only two that really stand out. Oh and I also liked YOU having a baby by Dr. Oz although I know a lot of people think he’s full of it. Whateve’s- I liked it.

 25.  What was your greatest musical discovery?

I have a few new fav’s- Frances and the Machine! Oh, man, I can’t get enough.Vampire Weekend,  Derby, The XX, The 88, Bombay Bicycle Club and Lady Gaga. I know, I know, but damn if that lady doesn’t get my booty shaking. 

26. What did you want and get?

 A baby.  A laptop. Bedroom furniture. Clean carpets.

27. What did you want and not get?

An uneventful, tear-free (as in rip, not cry) delivery. A calm, non-crying baby who sleeps well and can be put down. HA! A vacation with Mike, I knew that was a pipe dream but I wanted it.

 28. What was your favorite film of 2010?

Shit, you guys, the only movies I’ve seen in a theater in the last 12 months my kid was with me. 

 29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

It was very low-key. Ben was just a few weeks old. I turned 33, I think we just went to red robin for an early dinner and Mike let me take a nap.

 30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Freaking cold medicine! For real, when will drug companies get the memo that pregnant and nursing women get sick and we need drugs!  Also, sleep. Related, caffeine or a baby who can tolerate my drinking of caffeine.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept of 2010?

Elastic!  good hair and shoes to try to distract from said elastic.

 32. What kept you sane?

2010- the year of complete insanity. 10 degrees of crazy, truly. I thank my meds, Starbucks, Style Lush and Twitter (were I spout off the most and am insanely supported!)

33. What political issue stirred you the most?

Hot Ham! If you know me even a little you know my answer is don’t ask don’t tell.  

34. Who did you miss?

Everyone- we had a load of visitors this year because of Ben which made the year better than others in this area. But still, as I say all the time I miss my village.  I also really miss my dog.

35. Who was the best new person you met?

No new people but I’ve gotten to know a few better, which is great. Having an actual circle of friends, like, enough to have a Christmas party with is a big deal for me.

36. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2010.

That the only life that I can change/fix/meddle in with any real success is my own. Don’t expect anyone’s idea of right and wrong to match my own and when they don’t, keep your damn mouth shut, get off the phone with an I love you and them move the eff on.

37. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

Your love is better than ice cream, better than anything else that I’ve tried. — Super old song but this year with all of its trials has been very, very sweet.

4 thoughts on “2010 in review

  1. If you get a chance, listen to Jack Johnson’s version of “Spring Wind.” It’s on the 180 degrees south soundtrack (OMG fabulous movie also!).

    The chorus is delicious:

    “Love calls like the wild birds–it’s another day.
    A Spring wind blew my list of things to do…away.”

Leave a Reply

