Thankful: Naptime

Today I am grateful for peace and quite and a little break to take a breath, eat my lunch and rest a little.

Naptime serves many purposes for both of us.  His reasons are obvious,  he needs to sleep to grow, he needs to gear up for the afternoon of madness that is being a 2 year old boy.  Mama needs it for many other reasons.

Naptime is my PTO.  I get everything or nothing done during naptime.  I get the one meal of the day were dimpled hands are not grabbing at my food or my chin asking me to “aaaa” wanting to look at my chewed up food.  It’s when I get to read a magazine, watch tv, clean up, take a shower and sometimes, take a nap too.

Oh, naps!  I’m a sleeper, always have been.  I know  you will shake your head but I need 9 hours of sleep per night to survive.  I’m not much for sleeping in though, I make it to bed around 10 so I get my sleep by the time Nate wakes up around 7:30.    So I get a lot of sleep  and sometimes I curl up on the couch and take a nap in the middle of the day.  Sometimes I even go to bed.

Ahhh, it’s good!  Naptime, please stick around until pre-school.  Please?

2 thoughts on “Thankful: Naptime

  1. I love this. I love the fact that you are taking a moment to rest. I love the fact that you are vocalizing your blessings. I love that you’re writing. I love the fact that you have made an amazing life with your husband and son. I love that I am able to (from distance) peek in your window every week and see how my Chrissi Lee is doing. Have a wonderful day, old friend … and enjoy that nap. Hugs

  2. Naptime is sacred time. It’s so much easier to relax when you know they are happily sleeping, isn’t it? I will cheerfully slaughter anyone who messes with my PTO.

Leave a Reply

