Oh, Henry!

Poor Henry. His feelings were hurt, Mauve was really harsh about his look and overall vibe. She made fun of his traditional lines and his “pink” undertones, she even blamed him for bringing out her bad side. The nerve. I told him to hang in there, I’d find his match. I hunted high and low for paper but was unable to find anything that was a good mix of tradition and hip metro to balance the other pieces in the room so I gave up and moved to fabric. Today I found Henry’s soul mate. She’s much classier than Mauve anyway, I mean she sold herself out at $1.49 per roll, Fabric Tess was $9 per yard. “Suck it, Mauve!” yelled Tess, loud enough for Mauve to hear her from the depths of the basement. She didnt respond, ashamed of her future appearance wrapped around a train table at a 2 year olds party before hitting the recycling bin.  It never pays to be catty.

Henry beforeHenry After

Henry’s close-up

Henry's closeup

And with that the room is about as complete as it will be for a long time.  I do want a rug and a comfy chair but neither are a priority and a rug with a toddler and two pets is out of the question for a few more years. 
I love this room now!   It’s welcoming as the first room you see as you enter the house and I love that I’ve mixed in a lot of suff that doesnt “go.”  

I think my next project is the fireplace, I’m getting close to painting the mantle and maybe the brick too…… I don’t know, I’m scared.  But, I hate it so we’ll see.

5 thoughts on “Oh, Henry!

  1. Wow, I love it! I can’t believe what a difference that makes to the shelf. I’m considering adding some built-in shelves to our office (in my head, they’re already built) and I think I’ll have to scour the fabric/paper stores for something just as striking. Love all your great ideas – I’m always inspired by what you put together. 🙂 xoxo

Leave a Reply

