Sew Excited

You guys!  Omg y’all!  Guess what?  Go ahead, guess.   Oh, I know, that never works.  Anyway.   This weekend while my inlaws were here they gave us our birthday presents early!  WOOT!  Presents- early presents!   They bought me a sewing machine!  Oh, yes they did.

My Mom sewed everything from drapes to clothes and anything in between but never taught me, not even how to sew on a button.  (or to crochet or knit or cook, thanks Mom,)  I’ve always wanted to learn.  Every time I cant find a good set of curtains or toss pillows or crib bedding.  Over an over I have wished I could sew.  But, I’ve never learned or even tried.    You know how I thrive on projects so this is fan freaking tastic!

I signed up for a class today and I just cant wait to learn.  I am looking forward to it since reading the manual and staring at the machine is a tad intimidating.    After reserving my spot in the class I coincidentally came across a blog post about Amy Butler patterns.  And then, the top of my head blew off!  I was going over all the things to do for my house and kid and hadn’t even thought of making my own clothes yet.   Seriously, I’m so excited!  I really, really hope this is “the thing” I am good at.   I will know better around lunch time on June 20th.  Until then I’m going to try not to spend a million dollars on patterns.

Do you sew?

7 thoughts on “Sew Excited

  1. OMG OMG OMG. I’m making C a quilt. And R a quilt (that I’ve been working on since before we got married… I get bored easy!). But it’s so much fun! And I don’t even have a sewing machine.
    It’s really good work when you’re aggravated and need something constructive to do. And I very strongly recommend learning to hand-sew as well, because there may be a time that your machine isn’t handy and you’ve got something to fix.
    I hope you have fun with your machine! Good luck and I can’t wait to see your first completed project!

  2. I don’t sew, but I wish I did. My mom has a machine, and we’ve done a few small projects together (like my kitchen/laundry room curtains) but that’s about the extent of my knowledge.

    I took a class when I was in fifth or sixth grade, where we sewed simple shirts and skirts and other such things – but all that knowledge has long since flown away. I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

  3. I took a sewing class in fifth grade and then everyone modeled their dresses afterwards. I made a pair of bright pink baggy shorts and thought I was such hot stuff. I haven’t sewed since then, but I’d love to learn how to sew pillows. Wouldn’t that be so perfect to be able to whip up gorgeous throw pillows for beds/couches/etc. rather than having to pay a small fortune?? 🙂

  4. i just re-learned to sew (after the obligatory home-ec class in junior high, a million years ago!) last august, and it’s been so much fun to make things. i haven’t attempted any clothing items, but just being able to go from raw materials to finished product is so totally rewarding for me! i’m sure you’ll love it once you get started.

  5. oh, also – i’ve learned lots of good sewing tips off the internet…things like how to put in a zipper (my mom was totally impressed when she found out that i didn’t need her help to do a zipper!), how to gather fabric, stuff like that. just google it (or look on youtube) and you’ll find some pretty good tutorial videos.

Leave a Reply

