No More Nuk

Nate is 16 months now and he still uses his Nuk to soothe himself to sleep.  We don’t take them out of the house, or out of his room for that matter.  There is a  bowl in his top drawer where in the morning and after his naps I open the the drawer and tell him to put it away.  He drops it in the bowl, waves goodbye to it and we leave his room.  End of story.img_0707

I am ready to take it away all together because I am worried about his teeth.   You have all see my flip top head of an overbite and this is after 4 years of orthodontia (though I have no idea if I used a pacifier but I know I wasn’t a thumb sucker.)  Nate was born with a bit of an overbite, I don’t want his teeth to buck further than they will naturally.    I have read that toddlers palates are really flexible and that this isn’t really going to do any real harm.  I have seen in real life that it can.  I don’t want to take it away because hello, he is an amazing sleeper.  I don’t really consider him using it an issue since they stay in his bedroom outside of it messing with his mouth.   I want to take them away because he goes to the drawer points and puts his index finger in his mouth and signs please.   I am conflicted.  I want to take it away because it feels like it is time,  I don’t want to because I think I love them as much as Nate does.  It’s like a mute button at nap time!  A kid, with a Mute Button!  Heaven!

Talk to me.  Is 16 months a good time?   At what point did you take it away and how.  Am I over thinking?  Let me have it!

 

Alternately titled:  Piss off, Paci!

9 thoughts on “No More Nuk

  1. Oh, I SO don’t have an answer for you, but I do feel your pain. Tony only has them when he’s in his crib, and he honestly spits them out right after he falls asleep, but the FALLING ASLEEP part? Yeah, it’s crucial for that.

  2. Aidan uses one quite a bit. And we are obviously a long way from being in your situation, but I have heard a lot of people say they take it away at 2 yrs.

    So. . . I don’t know if that helps at all, but looking forward, that was kind of my plan.

  3. Does he use them at nap time? If so, I would probably start removing them then and see what happens. If he refuses to nap for a few days, then it might be to early.

    AJU5 gets hers around sleep time only too, and I am not sure how well she will take to giving hers up either!

  4. I already gave you my opionion of HOW to take them away, honestly, it won’t hurt to put it off another month. We did BOTH kids at 18 months and both were ADDICTED to these things. You know how it was. The only thing that I can say, is dont flounder, if you are going to do it, DO IT.. you can not change your mind in the middle of the night, or it will make it much harder on both of you. When you get them gone from bed time and are ready to tackle nap, the morning that you start, take the bowl to the garbage, and have him throw them in one by one and say goodbye. Then TAKE THEM OUT TO THE CORNER!!! Dont leave them in the house, or you may give it back because it is to hard. So just commit when you are ready and go for it. But it will not break him to wait a while longer. It is all about when you are both ready, just like everything else. Good luck 🙂

  5. You should call your dentist. He’s a baby, so do whatever works for him. If he’s a great sleeper (you are truly blessed) with it, just go with the flow. My kids are horrible sleepers (even now) and I would have loved it if they wanted a binkie. But seriously, call your dentist.

  6. Charlotte gave hers up at 7 months old when we started sleep training. She was so busy yelling at us that she forgot all about the paci. Since then she’s developed a deep attachment to two stuffed animals and (especially) to her blanket, and hasn’t asked for the paci again.
    The only real advice I have is this: Once you decide to do it, don’t give it back. Find something else that he can form a bond with to take the “comfort item” spot the paci filled.

  7. as you know, i don’t have kids but i’m pretty sure my sister waited quite awhile with my nephew (i want to say 2 or 3 years old). she prepared him way in advance by saying “and what happens at your next birthday?” and he’d reply, “no more minx.” so he was definitely prepared.

    she told me about how some people do ceremonial type things to say goodbye to pacifiers, like stringing them all up to helium-filled balloons and waving goodbye to them. i thought that was cute. she also had heard of taking scissors and slowly snipping them down. i think that sounds mean and a bit sadistic! hahaha….good luck whatever you decide to do!

  8. This is actually when I decided to take Travis’ paci away. We did just like you did, only for naps and bedtime, although I am supper impressed with Nate putting it away! Travis has a lot of teeth. All but the last 4 to be exact. So when he suddenly couldn’t tear into a sandwich like he could a few weeks ago, I got a little worried. I sent a picture of him grinning big to our dentist because, low and behold, his teeth didn’t fit together anymore. I didn’t want to be the over analyzing mom who thinks every little thing is a huge issue, but this one seemed important to me. I mean, if only my molars touched each other, I’d go pretty hungry. So the dentist said, it wasn’t a big deal, it was just from his pacifier, but that the situation wouldn’t get any better and might get a little worse until we took the cause away. Meaning ditch the paci ASAP. We introduced two new stuffed additions to the crib besides his bear in hopes that it would distract and hopefully comfort the loss. So after a few restless naps of no paci, I moved on to total withdrawal. We put them away for good where he couldn’t see them and I had to get the ladder out to reach them so I would be less tempted to cave in; no long drawn out explanations, just gone. Travis was completely fine with the lack of paci after about three weeks and his teeth were back to better than normal in a month. I hadn’t noticed how much using a pacifier was affecting his teeth! The dentist also said that losing a paci would probably result in some tongue thrusting (pushing outward on your teeth with your tongue-new word for me!) for lack of anything else to do with your mouth, and it did, but only for about a week.
    Good luck with your transition! You’ve got one smart cookie there, I’m sure he will move on better than you expect!!

  9. Blythe is 20 months and she still has hers for sleeping too, but she wants it more and more. Although I want to get rid of it I am so chicken. Actually I wanted to get rid of it before she could say “Paci” so I could play dumb when she asked for it…but she was teething horribly the past few months and I couldn’t take away her comfort like that. Now I have no excuse, I am just scared like you that her good sleeping will come to an end. Alice was 2 1/2 and it was torture. It was about 2 weeks of tantrums at every nap and bedtime before she was OK and went to sleep without it. I don’t know if Blythe and Nate would be old enough to understand something ceremonious at this point. I myself was a bigtime Paci kid til I was an older toddler. I actually remember throwing it away one birthday (probably 3?) and going back that night and getting it out of the trash. My mom was a softie! But seriously, it was like Wilson the volleyball from Cast Away. Total attachment! So maybe I have paci detachment issues of my own…hahaha! If its any help, my ped who I love, doesn’t think there is a problem with them (for sleeping) up until age 2 1/2 or so. That is my cutoff but I am trying to get up the courage to do it before then!

Leave a Reply

