For Hire

I was out with Carrie yesterday having lunch, shopping a bit, and we ended up back at her place to try and configure her living room.  She recently added two chairs and a coffee table and wasn’t sure what to do with her space.   Most of our day was about design and decorating and she gave me an idea.  She told me I should have another blog, one about decorating.  One where you can ask questions!   You write me about some dilemma or where you got stuck on a room or anything really, and I try and solve it for you.  I liked this idea.  But, I don’t know if I should commit to a second blog  so how about we do it here today?

Let me be your designer!  Ask any question you have and we’ll see if I can put my money where my mouth is.  This is a big leap for me.  My own sister doesn’t “get” most of my ideas or like them even.  My own mother told me “Oh,  I love it, it’s perfect!”   Only to put the room back and repaint after I had returned to the other side of the country.  So I’m not making any promises that what I come up with will be what you have always dreamed of.  But, it can be fun to try.  Right?

3 thoughts on “For Hire

  1. Here is our design dilemma. We have a family room with lots of openings, etc. The north wall was a fireplace on the eastt side – just past middle. The east wall as a patio (French) door and then a double window. The south wall has the door to the kitchen (east of middle), the door to the closet (west of middle – about 3 feet from kitchen door), and the opening (doorway size) to the entry/half bath (far west – very little room between it and the closet). The west wall has an alcove (bench and storage will go here – just north of hall) and the garage door (about 1 foot north of the alcove). We are going to put an entertainment center on the north wall. We (almost) have enough room for two couches and two chairs, leaving 3-4 feet of walking space around everything. The big question is do we put the couch on the east side or the west side. The chairs will go opposite and will be pushed back when we want more floor space.

    I would maybe make this a once a week post – call is Designing on ____day!

  2. Oh my gosh, I would love you to look at my living room. It’s a rectangle (20 x 10, I believe?). It has five windows, one wide doorway, and a never-ending capacity to be a pain in my ass.

    I think that I have the floorplan down, but it’s the colors that continue to haunt me. I painted the room Blonde by SW (which is gorgeous with all the light in there) but I’m at a bit of a loss as to accents. My couch and loveseat are a sagey green. I need window treatments, and I don’t know which type.

    Really, I should just send pictures and see what you make of it…

Leave a Reply

