Task 3 Complete

I woke up this morning and started thinking about ways to make the kitchen function better, what to do with the pantry, trying to remember what was in the hutch.

It all went surprisingly well.   Every surface in the kitchen was covered with things to donate or sell.   This was and is really exciting since my kitchen is on the small side.  I was able to make room for the things I really use and move some items around, things I use often into better areas and things I don’t into higher cupboards.  It was fantastic!  I need to buy a few things, some sort of organization for my spices which are taking two shelves, and some lazy Susan deals for my oils and vinegars that are over the stove. 

The pantry is a thing of beauty.  I just want to sand and stare at it.  There was plenty of things to get rid of in there.  It allowed me to organize things so I can see what is in there, and for it to look nice at the same time.Pantry after

The dining room held a surprise.  I came around the corner this morning and stopped in my tracks looking at the table.  I have never liked our set in this house.  It looks wrong.  We have a perfectly square room and a long rectangle table.   It hit me like a brick today.  Take the leaf out.   The movers set the room up and I never touched it.  I don’t know why I lived with it that way for over 2 years.  It looks so much better now.  A rectangle still but it fits now, you can walk all the way around the table.  I am embarrassed to admit this, I thought I had a better eye than that.   I am thrilled with it now.  Now I want the two items I’ve been coveting for years, even more.  A new light and a area rug. 

  Tomorrow I will tackle the junk drawer and I have a cookbook to make out of my clippings.  Other than that it’s a done deal.  I couldn’t be happier about it.  I spend so much time in the kitchen, I really think these small changes will enhance cooking in it.  I wish I had put more time into it when I moved in but I think that I had to use the space for a while to know what will work for me. 

There is something really wonderful coming out of this process.  I feel like each room in our house is set up in a way that works for us.  Not just a closet full of random stuff because that’s where it was kept in our last place.  Functioning spaces,  I know where everything is and it all looks nice and neat.   I can’t think of a better way to spend a day or 3 each month.  I thought that everything was pretty good before I started but now that I have been given instructions for each space and ideas for what to do with them and how to maximize each area of your home, I see everything differently.   I feel more at home here with each passing month.  What could be better than that?

3 thoughts on “Task 3 Complete

  1. Wow. You weren’t kidding when you said you didn’t keep food in the house. That is 100% opposite of me. I have a packed full pantry and an overflow cabinet in the garage. I try to shop once a month. I spend less that way and plan out the meals. I always keep things on hand for a variety of recipes. I think I would go insane if I had to go to the store for a few items every time I wanted to make something! You can tell when things are running low when I’m scraping for something to pack in school lunches!

    Good job on getting things settled the way you want them!

  2. I LOVE this. I am so glad that I happened across your blog. I’ve been tackling my kitchen this week, one area at a time as I make dinner in the evenings. Last night it was the junk drawer and cookbook shelves – I felt so purged after I was finished.

    I’ll have to post some pictures of my progress as well – what great motivation!

Leave a Reply

