It’s a wrap

Linda at All and Sundry posted this list of questions pertaining to 2008.  It seemed like a challenge and a good way to document what I have gone through at this age and my first full year as a Mom.   So here are my answers.  Feel free to cut and paste for your own blog, I would love to read about your year, too.

1. What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?

I didn’t go to work and am still underpaid- HA!

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year? 

I did.  It was to loose the baby weight.  2009 will focus on overall health, eating, exercising, vitamins, etc. Keeping the house organized (finish clean up your messy house) cook from new recipes more often.  Scrapbook a page per month about that month.  Work to keep digital files organized and backed up.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? 

Sort of, not bff’s but friends.  Baby Claire and Baby Liem.

4. Did anyone close to you die? NO!

5. What countries did you visit?  none…

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008? 

 I would like a space to be creative, a corner with natural light where I can sit and dream, read, plan, look out a window.

7. What dates from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

I imagine that I will only remember Nate’s  first birthday, 10-6.  I struggle to come up with anything as great.  Oh well, the election.   I will remember that, too!

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? 

 Finding and keeping balance between being me and being a Mom. 

9. What was your biggest failure?    Time management.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? 

I suspect I had PPD until around March or April.   I will not list the number of times I fell down. 

11. What was the best thing you bought?   treadmill

12. Whose behavior merited celebration? 

Mike  finishing a huge project at work.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?  Mom

14. Where did most of your money go?   Food

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Taking Nate to Animal Kingdom.  That may have been the best day of the year.  Seeing my son with my Dad that day filled me with so much that I cannot find words.

16. What song will always remind you of 2008?

Powder Blue- the lullaby I sing to Nate. 

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
a) happier or sadder?  Happier
b) thinner or fatter? Thinner
c) richer or poorer?  Richer

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?  

I wish I wrote down more of Nate’s developments.  I got the big stuff but I wish I had a running list of his words and other things like that.  I know I will want for such a thing when there is another kid in the house.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Complaining

20. How did you spend Christmas? 

The best part was the 3 of us at home.  It was a hard decision to stay home but it was the best one!  I made a great dinner, we used the crystal and china, drank wine and after putting Nate down watched Love Actually.  It was perfect.

21. Did you fall in love in 2008? 

 Not a new love but I love more now than I did in 2007.

22. What was your favorite TV program?  

I can’t choose just one.  Lost, Brothers & Sisters,  Lipstick Jungle.

23. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year? 

 Yes.  I am shocked and hurt by it though I should have seen it coming……

24. What was the best book you read? 

Sleep is for the weak. It was the perfect read for this stage of my life.    It and what to expect the first  & and Toddler year’s are all I actually took the time to read all year. 

25. What was your greatest musical discovery? 

I have come to love t he White Stripes- but, overall  I am still listening to the same music from 07 with a few things Mike has added but I haven’t made a single purchase for myself all year.

26. What did you want and get? 

I am spoiled so this list is long.  The biggest thing I “got” this year was a full and lovely living room.

27. What did you want and not get? 

A date with my husband.  Family pictures.

28. What was your favorite film of this year?

 I only saw 2 movies in the theater this year so my favorite was a rental.  p.s.  I love you.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? 

31, I think we went out to dinner but I can’t remember? 

30. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? 

More time as a family.  Mike’s work commitments this year were really intense.  I hope that in the coming year we can find a little more balance.  And a babysitter.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?  

 This changed over time, from if it zips wear it,  how to be fat without looking fat, to I will not dress like a Mom and you cant make me, Ohio!  But, mostly it was find a way to look cute and feel like myself while I learn to transition from work clothes to play clothes.  I’d say about half of the year was a success.

32. What kept you sane? 

Chai, hot baths, Mike.

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? 

Who is the guy that plays Denny in Greys?  That guy!  I can’t say what it is about him but I love that character.

34. What political issue stirred you the most? 

I am really pissed about prop 8!  Just when I thought we were moving in the right direction- or my idea of the right direction.

35. Who did you miss? 

When you live so far away you miss everyone at different times.  Mostly I miss seeing my nieces and nephews right now.  Everyone is at such fantastic ages (1,2,4) that they fascinate you with every other thing that comes out of their mouths.  I hate that I cant be there with them all, I also hate that they are not growing up with Nathan.

36. Who was the best new person you met?  

I’m not naming names, but there is a fantastic new GF, she knows who she is.

37. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2008. 

 When people show you who they are, believe them.  Stop trying to make excuses for why they let you down, lie to you, stand you up.  Let it and them go.

38. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

 “Learn to be yourself and you’ll always be free.”  Another kid song  I have been singing all year long.  To Nathan but also to myself.  Isn’t this the message we want our kids to get?  Isn’t it also one that is perfect for ourselves no matter what our stage of life…. I think so!

If you do this let me know in the comments so I can come read about you, too!

7 thoughts on “It’s a wrap

  1. I love this answer: “I would like a space to be creative, a corner with natural light where I can sit and dream, read, plan, look out a window.” I think we all need a space like that.

    Happy 2009 to you!

  2. I love this survey. I did it this year, too.

    I love your life lesson for the year… and I was also very stirred by Prop 8. Yeesh, what a mess!

  3. Pingback: 2009 « Rockin’ the Suburbs

Leave a Reply

