How to feed a Kid

As Super Nate approaches his birthday I find myself eyeing the calender daily and wondering when I am actually going to start weaning.  The answer to that is, I don’t know for sure.   I am ready to drop the middle of the day session, no problem.  He is least interested/most annoying at that sitting.  I don’t think either of us will miss it.  The morning session, I’m unsure of.  Most days its nice, it gives me 15 more minutes to wake up and that amount of time to snuggle with him before he is off for the day.  That being said, it will be the next to go.  The one I am thinking of holding on to for another month or even two is the bedtime one.  I need to see how a few things go, one being how he does with his mid day nap and no nursing, two, how he takes to all of his liquid coming from the cup.  He is taking one now but it’s still more of a toy than a source of nourishment.  I am hopeful that he drinks enough once my milk is off the table, so to speak.  So I have decided to let myself and Nate set the pace for this.  There is no “finish” line, we will go at our own pace.  I am scared, I’m worried about the inevitable hormone shift, the discomfort and last but certainly not least, the time with my baby.   

This leads me to thinking about cows milk (OHH exciting post, Christina!)  I read an article recently about “The Dirty Dozen” a list of the 12 most contaminated foods, ones that are best to choose organic when possible.  Mike and I don’t eat a lot of organic, when we do it’s because it is a food we like that just happens to be.  I do choose it from time to time but most of the food in our pantry is not.   I have made all of Nate’s baby food, about half of it has been organic.  Now that he is getting ready for real Milk and having read that article I plan on going organic with the items on that list, basically fruits and veggies with thin skin.  I don’t know why I am so inclined, I ate organic food by default, my Mom grew most of our food in our back yard, but we sure didn’t have organic oatmeal and milk.   I guess its just one little thing I can do to try and insure that Nathan will be as healthy as he can be.   I don’t know what good it will do in the long run, but what good was breast feeding for a year + once you’re grown?   In the grand scheme of things it wont matter, formula is just as good, an apple washed in the sink vrs one that was grown organically is still an apple,  but when you push a kid out your desire to do everything you can is strong.  So, I will keep doing the little things and hope they add up to a happy, healthy kid.

Opinion’s on this?  Do you eat organic all the time, when you can, or could care less?  Also, again with the weaning ideas- I will take anything you’ve got! I’m looking at starting the 22nd, we don’t have any road trips or big things planned after that date.  My book tells me to wait to start until everything is as normal as it can be, so that looks like a good starting point. 

Let me have it!!

9 thoughts on “How to feed a Kid

  1. Lauri just weaned Audry, do you want her email to pick her brain? Or would you like me to give hers to you so she can send you her thoughts? Just thought of her because she JUST did it… let me know. 🙂

  2. My little one is younger than yours (she will be 9 months on Sunday). I am like you with organics – I buy it if it is what is available but I don’t stress about it. Our Costco has organic baby carrots and frozen green beans that we use for her, but other are not. If I am buying packaged food (i.e. cereals) I try to go organic if it isn’t a huge price difference.

    As for weening, I am planning on slowly removing her daytime feedings like you. She seems to nurse more often than your little one though, so we will see how long it takes us. My only fear is what to do if she won’t finish a cup of milk. Is that a sign she isn’t ready for the cup or a sign that she is being stubborn? I guess I will just have to cross that bridge when we get there though!

  3. I’ve started trying to buy healthier items – not necessarily organic. I try to buy our fruits and veg from the farmer’s market (we are lucky in California). The apples? Bananas? Oranges? nope and nope. I can wash all of those. Because milk costs an arm and a leg – we don’t buy organic. The costco “Kirkland” brand does not have any hormones in it and that is good enough for me.

    The way I see it, I was fed formula, I was NOT fed organic food (almost all of our veggies were in the form of potatoes) and I turned out perfectly fine. It’s a matter of money and availability.

    As for weening… I didn’t have that issue – my kids weened me. Same with a few girlfriends. One day, the kid woke up and didn’t want to nurse anymore. Didn’t ask for it, didn’t care that it wasn’t offered.

    Do what feels good to you!

  4. We don’t buy organic fruits and veggies for Kara; Luke just washes it before cutting it up, but when we buy commercial food, Luke prefers to go organic, which is fine by me. We probably won’t buy organic milk, but who knows? I’m sure we’ll be talking about it soon.

    I think weaning at your own pace is a great idea. There’s no reason you have to stop just because Nathan turns one!

  5. I have always just made sure to get the rbst free milk. That’s the stuff that scares me. Organic is just so much more and with all food and everything else under the sun going up in price I just can’t do it and still stay home with my kids! Also, 2 little kids can go through a LOT of milk in this house. Organic isn’t that important to me. Like you, I buy it when I can but I don’t seek it out. So on the milk, rbst free is my big kicker.

    Wean at your own pace as you said. You’ll both be fine. Most people I know, me included, weaned just like you describe – middle of the day 1st cut out, bedtime last. I weaned for many reasons when DD was 8 mo. One of them was that I felt myself getting weary of it and wanted to end on a good note, with good memories of it (since she is my last baby and nursing was a struggle with DS). I cried and cried when I knew it was the last time but after a few days, I felt much better. We still bond but differently now that she’s four!

  6. As you know, we eat a lot of organic stuff — particularly milk, due to the hormones. As for organic, there are some items where organic is very important (such as spinach and blueberries), due to difficulties in avoiding pesticide investion. Otherwise, my preference is for fresh and local food. Eating foods that have been shipped half-way across the world is not an earth-friendly thing to do and typically those foods taste worse. I really liked the theory of food/healty eating spelled out in Barbara Kingsolver’s book, Animal, Vegetable, Miracle (see the web site http://www.animalvegetablemiracle.com/).

  7. I was raised by hippies so of course I am ….. SO NOT a hippie. I don’t buy organic stuff, partly because it’s really expensive and partly because I think it’s kinda hype. The milk I buy does not have hormones or has been treated with the rbst thing. Most milk is like this now so that’s easy. For the fruits and veggies, it’s your call. Everything I’ve researched shows that non organic is perfectly fine to eat. Organic food uses pesticides too, they just happen to be “natural”. Unless you grow it out of your backyard then it’s been treated with something.

    As for the weaning, Nate was on a bottle so it was merely switching over to a sippy cup with milk, super easy. Going at your own pace sounds like the right thing to do.

  8. I was so paranoid about organic with Gabe. I think it really limited the things that I exposed him to. Now I think I am more realistic. We get organic bananas because I think they taste better. And sometimes organic produce is cheaper. I do try hard to get organic berries and spinach. The milk thing… I just try to do the hormone free. Everything adds up $$$. More my thing is trying to eat fresh and local. Not a great deal of additives. Trader Joes usually has a pretty good selection of minimally processed food.

    As for the weaning I have found it works best when it happens naturally. Gabe got sick around 9 months and stopped nursing. At that point I was so tired of nursing that I just let it happen. It was kind of hard physically but it only lasted a week or so. Around 1 yr, Natalie just decided that there were other things to do. She didn’t want to sit still long enough to nurse. I remember a few days before her 1st birthday I just decided that it was no longer enjoyable to either of us. At that point I was nursing so little that it did not affect me physically at all.

Leave a Reply

