On lasting Friendship

Woo!  What a weekend.  I just woke up from a 3 hour nap and let me tell you that alone would have made for a great time but it was the end of one instead.

Cj and Ashley paid the $4 per gallon to drive from NC to OH to visit and I sure hope they thought it was worth it, I know it was to me.   We went shopping at the mall where I joke about my ashes being spread and had lunch, window shopped and enjoyed the outdoors in the sunshine.  That evening we had dinner at our place with Amy, Giang and baby Liem and my house was just full of love.  We ate salad and delivered pizza with copious amounts of margaritas and beer and about 1 am we called it a night.  Saturday we relaxed a bit around the house before heading downtown for dinner out.  Sadly, all of Columbus was at home and it was unbearably quiet out there, but we still enjoyed ourselves.   Then, another night on the deck with a lot of chips, salsa, EL Fudge and several bottles of wine.  

There is something incredible about time and friendships.  It seems the good ones have no concept of it, once you are all together its like you see each other all the time, you pick up right were you left off a year, two, whatever.  Now that Amy lives here its the same with her too. I am so grateful.  We talked a lot about making friends at work, where the 4 of us came together and for me this is the first time I have really held on to the relationships.  Maybe its age, maybe duration of employment (6 years) or maybe we were all just supposed to be together, everything for a reason?  One person was missing, Jenny, but at 33 (34?) weeks pregnant with her 2nd it wasn’t in the cards for her.  Jen, you were missed!   I am so grateful for you all,  I appreciate the effort you put forth to keep in touch, be it email, phone calls or driving 700 miles, moving to Columbus for Amy (I’m not the reason but I like to pretend).  It stinks that we are apart now but in some ways I think we are as closer than ever.

Rather than put them all here there is a flickr album if you are interested.  I feel like it should be said Nathan was sleeping and I was sober, it was just very very late.  And so much fun you just help but contort your face while closing your eyes to laugh.  Heh.

3 thoughts on “On lasting Friendship

  1. I’m so glad you had this. I’ve been very blessed to have a strong group of fabulous women close to me, and I am thankful for them every single day. I think it truly does take a village to raise a child, and I’m glad yours visited. 🙂

  2. I had a great time…but it makes me miss you guys even more. I will send you my pictures tonight and you can post them as well. Much love and thanks again for everything, especially being such a great friend.

    xoxoxoxo

  3. *sniff, sniff*… I missed you guys too. Needless to say… I was somewhat jealous, but very happy you guys had a great time. I love the pics that you posted. Tell Nathan that fried cheese is just the beginning…it only gets better.

    Maybe Ill make it up the next time. xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

