Paint my door red and call me Elizabeth Arden

Okay, it’s not red but I love that movie*.   After weeks and weeks of looking at two paint swatches I finally bit the bullet.   My only regret is I waited a year and a half,  why did I live with such a boring house?  Oh yeah,  I was a hippo last summer.  Anyway, I love it!  Funny enough, Mike and I were standing in the front yard last night looking at it and he said “it looks like our place in NC”  Where have I been?  He is right!  Our townhouse had grey siding and a blue door, I hadn’t realized it before.   Subconscious, maybe?   I always did like that blue door.  I just wonder if I’m the same person as I was back then, will I hang a wreath now? 
Maybe, maybe that’s how you really rock the suburbs?  By mixing the old you with the new….  by wearing your 7’s with your Dansko’s?  I don’t know but I’m trying.

 *Steel Magnolias- but I bet most of you knew that?

 

6 thoughts on “Paint my door red and call me Elizabeth Arden

  1. “Her colors are pink and pink”

    “My colors are blush and bashful”

    I love that movie and could watch it everyday!!

  2. I could watch that movie 400 times a week! My grandparents house was used in the movie and they even got to be extras!! 🙂

    My favorite quotes, hands down (minus blush and bashful, of course!)

    In a good shoe, I wear a size six, but a seven feels so good, I buy a size eight.

    That sanctuary looks like it’s been hosed down with Pepto-Bismol.

    Ouiser, you sound almost chipper. What happened today – you run over a small child or something?

    Well, these thighs haven’t gone out of the house without lycra on them sice I was 14.
    You were brought up right!

    Oh, and my favorite part is when Ouiser whacks off the ass of the bleeding armadillo cake and gives it to Drum. I L-O-V-E this movie 🙂

    Moving on… I love your blue door AND your plants 🙂 It looks so home-y and welcoming!

    Are Danskos suburban? Someone should have told me! I wear them at least a couple times a week — I think they are stylish! No? Well… crap.

    xoxoxox

  3. i named my son jackson because of ‘steel magnolias’… and i’m not ashamed to say so!

    of course, my husband tells everyone our son is named jackson because he knocked me up in jackson hole, wy… whatever, babe!

Leave a Reply

