Forced Eviction

So, I have been thinking lately of my little blog circle of women.  I am sure we don’t all have the same people on our daily lists of people we follow but of those who I do, there are a slew of new moms.  All of us have given birth to our first babies since September and there is one very interesting thing most of them have in common.  They are, in order of birthdays.

1.Parker

2. Victoria

3. Me

4. Sister in Law- Becky

5. Sarah

6. Bree

7. Jamie

 Of that list, one of us went into labor, Me.  The rest of these women were induced.  6 of the 7.  Now that is only half of it, of the 6 only one, Sarah, delivered naturally.  The rest, ended in c-section.   Okay, so not the worlds largest sample size but its’ something.   Most of them were okay with the turn of events that brought on the sections and two of them had big babies (Bree and Parker)so that was a good call.   I just can’t help but wonder why, how much of this was because the drug that was to put the body into action just failed them, rather than the woman’s body’s at fault for failing to progress.   If they went on about pregnancy how many of them would have ended up that way?  How many could have gone naturally?  I wonder if “modern medicine” has become too modern, and maybe we need to let the babies tell us when they are ready? Not for me to say but its something.  It makes me wonder what the hurry really is*?  I understand that the placenta only functions at it’s best for around 41 weeks and after that the baby is better off on the outside but does it still do a good job?  A job sufficient enough to let it ride a little longer to prevent major surgery for the mother?  I just wonder.  Aside from the discomfort of late pregnancy and the need for the baby to just vacate already, is inducing really the way to go?  I think that if I were given a choice with my second baby, I would rather wait it out a bit to avoid it. 

What do you all think? If your on my list of induces do you wish now that you could have waited longer for your body to kick in to gear?  Feel that maybe it never would have and this was cool with you?  Bree,  I think I know your answer- hell to the no! Y’all her sweet little girl Kara, weighed in at 11 lbs 4 oz.  That’s some amazing gestating right there!

So am I off base or do you all think that there is something going on here? Are the Dr’s in too much of a hurry to get these little ones delivered?

*all of this is of course in hindsight.  I was a very large and evil pregnant woman who was bartering with my fetus to get out on a daily basis!

EDIT:  Had I stepped foot into my OB’s office at 40 weeks, I too would have been induced.

9 thoughts on “Forced Eviction

  1. I was 7lbs 1oz and was almost too big for my mom, who isn’t much smaller than me, to have naturally. Baby was a whole pound bigger than I was. Since I had GD and Baby was already bigger, when my doctor recommended it I did what I thought was best. I didn’t really WANT it (but then again, what pregnant woman ISN’T done with the whole process by 39 weeks?) but I was just a few days shy of 40 weeks when I was induced. I think we all honestly thought it would turn out better than it did.
    I DO think inductions are far too routine and too many doctors (including the one who delivered Baby) get in too big of a hurry. He wanted it done by midnight so he could sit back and relax. I think with any other doctor I probably coulda done it.
    Hindsight’s 20/20, and I gotta live with a lot of hurt (and possibly permanent back problems) because of the way things went. A lot of other women are dealing with far worse than I am because of the same circumstances. All I can say is we did what we thought was best, but next time we’ll be a whole lot wiser.

  2. Personally having gone to 41 weeks, I don’t know that I would’ve done it any other way. (But, like you said, I was singing a different song at the time.) Tony is such a stout, healthy baby and we count our blessings every day that all is as it should be.

  3. Once I learned I was being induced, I immediately assumed that I’d end up with a c-section. I was cynical, thinking — much as you suggested in your post – that a medical intervention would not end up with natural child birth. Nevertheless, I didn’t refuse the induction because I was so sick of being pregnant by 41 weeks.
    Interestingly, despite my initial feelings, I am no longer so cynical about medical interventions, despite the fact that I ended up with a c-section. For one thing, when I shared my pre-labor fears with my dula, she assured me that most inductions she’s participated in have ended in vaginal births. Consistent with this are the experiences of the women in my mother’s group — of about 12 women, several of whom had inductions, I was the only one who ended up with a c-section. In the end, what really has made me change my mind was that we found out that Clara may not have come out without a c-section — she had the umbilical cord wrapped around her neck. I kind of think she knew what she was doing and didn’t want to hang herself by dropping down. Also, by the time Clara was born, there was a lot of meconium in the amneotic fluid, so I don’t think she wouldn’t have done well had she cooked for longer. Recovering from the c-section was a bitch, but I’m very happy to have had the intervention of medical technology.

  4. I’m not on your list, but the maternity home I hope to give birth at actually allows you to go to 43 weeks as long as baby seems to be doing well. Very few people actually go that long, and they don’t encourage it (they start using natural methods to try and start labour once you are a few days past your due date), and check up on the baby regularly, but they do all they can to avoid an induction…

  5. I went into labor naturally with Connor at 41 weeks and had 18 hours of pain. I was induced with Emelia at 41 weeks and only labored for 4.5 hours. I think that a lot of this has to do with the mothers bodies reaction to the inducing agent. I know that my 9lb baby was ready to come out, so I think that it is all relative. Every woman and every baby are so different. What works well for others, fails for a lot as well. My Dr. refused to induce me with Emelia at 40 weeks as my body was not ready (dilation ect) She made me wait. With that said, I do think that some Dr.s are in too big of a hurry to get it over with, but going thru 82 weeks of pregnancy? I would not bat an eye if I had a third and was offered an induction at 41 weeks again!!

  6. I’m torn. The main reason we induced was because of my pre-eclamsia, if I didn’t have it we would have stuck it out. I wasn’t yet in the really dangerous zone but in the last 2 weeks I put on 20 pounds in water weight and my blood pressure was high again. After being on bed rest for a month, I was ready. After the surgery the doctor told Michael that even if we waited until 41 weeks he didn’t think she would be born naturally. Who knows how much of that is true, we’ll never know. All I know is it totally sucked being in labor for almost a day and then having to have a c-section. I don’t know how the other mommies did but luckily for me I’ve healed really well. I had a few problems the first week but I haven’t been on any meds since week 2 and I am getting around like normal. I guess to sum it up I was a little bummed about not having her naturally but I’m just glad she is here and healthy!

  7. I’m not on your list either, but I wanted to chime in because I had a planned C-section, though not by my own choice. R was breech, and we scheduled the surgery for 38 weeks (I know, everyone hate me, I was only pregnant for 38 weeks). But while I was in there, waiting for the OR, it was noted by one of the nurses that I was contracting and progressing better than the three pitocin patients they had in the rooms next door to me. So who knows what my body could have done? I wish I could have found out… As you can see, still one of the biggest regrets of my life.

  8. You’re right – I’m OK with how everything turned out.

    I think it all depends on your ob/gyn and how much your philosophies mesh and how much you trust your practice. Mine would’ve let me go as long as 10 days past my due date before really pressuring me to induce, and I went until 7. Once the induction started, we took things pretty slowly to give the baby a chance to get going on her own. It didn’t turn out that way, and it’s not what I planned, but I have no bad feelings. If I’d been coerced or rushed into doing something that I didn’t feel comfortable with, obviously I’d be singing a different tune, but I really respected my doctors, and they wanted to do as little as possible to interfere with the natural order of things. Knowing they felt that way allowed me to trust their judgement completely. I wish everyone had such a great experience with their prenatal care.

  9. So, I was just looking around at some of your past posts and saw this. My doctor did ask me how long I wanted to go before inducing the day I went into labor (about 8 hours later). I said two weeks past was fine with me – just as long as the baby was born before the new year for the tax break!

    I think interventions do sometimes cause lots of problems. From what I have read, the epidural is sometimes the cause – not the pitocin. It can slow down the labor and cause heart rate problems for the baby. So, I am thinking about having no interventions for number 2 – but I don’t know if I will be able to make it…

Leave a Reply

