Uneasy…

Tomorrow morning is an appointment that I have been dreading since Nathan was 2 days old.   Nate’s left ear failed his newborn hearing exam, tomorrow is the test to find out for sure.  The audiologist at the hospital said that it’s fairly common for a 2 day old to fail at least one ear, they prefer to test at 3 or 4 days but I busted out of the hospital the day after he was born.  So, retesting it is.

Now that it is tomorrow, it is getting to me.  What if?  I think worse case it would be just a partial loss in that one ear because he is very responsive to noise, granted that could be his good ear doing the job but still, I am crossing my fingers and holding my breath hopeful.  Another thing that’s bugging me is the “directions” for this appointment.  It is at 10am, I have been instructed to keep him awake, no naps after he is up for the day.  Next, I am to bring a bottle and feed him, then he is to take a 30 minute nap.  Where do I start?  I can’t keep him awake in the car, if he is forced to take a bottle from me it’s just going to piss him off, and last but not least. I cannot make him sleep.  Is it just me or are these pretty unreasonable expectations for a 14 week old? If they let me nurse him, which the receptionist who took my appointment said they will not, if they do, then maybe we can work out the nap.  If they don’t, not only will he not sleep but he is going to be upset and confused.    So, I am worried that we are going to show up for this and it isn’t going to work out and we will have to reschedule or something.  It’s one thing to be worried that something may be wrong with your baby but to freak me out about all of these requirements just sucks.

I’m feeling overwhelmed, I know I will not sleep tonight.   We should have an over/under for Nathan sleeping through the night, I would be just my luck he will while I lie staring at the ceiling waiting for the alarm.

Wish us luck. 

4 thoughts on “Uneasy…

  1. Please don’t worry so. Even though I understand that with hearing loss it’s best to catch it early, I think it’s very unreasonable to worry about it at quite so young an age. Babies grow and change and heal so amazingly that even if there were a hearing problem there, it could likely reverse itself as he grows.
    And please, let me know what you find out. This particular issue is very near and dear to my heart.

  2. Good luck! Did they say why you won’t be allowed to nurse? Let us know how you get on. Will be thinking of you!!

  3. You are always in my thoughts and prayers my friend.
    I am sure he will surprise you (as always 😉 ) and be a good boy.
    Good Luck! Let me know how it goes…

Leave a Reply

