The big 3-Ohh

7-11-77 

Well today is the day.  I’m 30 years old.  I have been thinking about this for a while now, what does it mean, how do I feel?  The answer is surprisingly simple.  I’m fine with it, I am happy with where my life has taken me, what I’ve accomplished and I think I feel my age which is quite fantastic (ignore pregnancy symptoms).  Prior to this pregnancy business I was in good shape, comfortable with myself  and getting better at excepting everything I see in the mirror.  “They” say it’s all down hill from here (both age 30 and pregnancy) but I believe I can get most of what I had back after the baby arrives and can accept what I can’t and move on.   I don’t know, maybe 30 is the new 20?    Past years were harder, 28 in particular.  I remember so clearly feeling past my prime.  Now I say piss on society’s prime, I’m not a babe on Laguna Beach, big deal.   I’ve never even seen that show, that alone cracks me up.  I’ve grown out of my own  old demographic!  I’m a 30 year old working, married, knocked up suburbanite with the beginnings of crows feet and an alarming amount of grey hair.  Take me or leave me.   That right there, the take me or leave me is what has changed over the years.  I am living my life feeling comfortable and doing what I can to create my own happiness, that’s an accomplishment and one I am glad to say only took me 30 years to achieve.  

 Happy Birthday Me. 

 Speaking of age, is anyone else in love with Dove these days and their Pro-age line and the campaign for real beauty?  I love what they are trying to do.  Check this out…

8 thoughts on “The big 3-Ohh

  1. 30 is the new 20…you’re exactly right. Happy B-day…sorry you had to eat lunch by yourself. You know if you were still in NC we would have been at the Mellow!

    xoxoxxo
    love ya lots, can’t wait to see you next month.

  2. …yeah..the Mellow…with a follow up to SB for a black and white cookie!!!

    It has become easier for me to accept myself after Landyn was born…because she has given me a whole new perspective as to what is important. Health and Happiness and Family is where it’s at.

    Im glad that you had a nice b-day.

  3. Happy Birthday!

    And trust me…you are happy not to be one of those girlies on Laguna Beach….my baby sister watches that show and those girls are just nasty!

  4. Happy B-Day! 30 is not so bad. I am there with you on the alarming amount of gray hair! Oh and I just love Dove! Those are some sexy women.

  5. Oh no, sorry I missed your birthday! Hope you had a great one, and I’m sure this whole year will be amazing, if in a pregnant-birth-newborn tired type of way ;o) But that’s amazing too, right?

    Lots of love!

  6. You thing YOU’RE old? Add up the age of you and your 3 sisters and I’ve been a dad now for 100 years!!!!!!

    Love you!

    Dad

  7. I’m sorry I missed your birthday too! I hope you had a great day, and I LOVE being 30 (that sounded convincing, didn’t it?). Seriously, it’s kind of nice in this decade – perhaps people take us more seriously. And you’ve got the greatest thing going right now – that baby!

Leave a Reply

