20 Weeks and what a day!

I don’t know what my problem was.  Why I thought waiting was for us.   Our appointment was first thing this morning and I woke up practically sick with anxiety.  We got stuck in a huge traffic jam,  I called the office at 8am telling them I was 10 minutes out and she said “if your later than 20 we will have to reschedule”  NO- No way will I miss this, I will be there.   We did make it and then we waited for 15 minutes, of course.  The scan was mostly for medical reasons, they checked the heart, kidneys, bladder, brain, spine and all of the other working parts.  The baby was pretty quiet,  just lay there in cooperation.  Little arms and feet moving here and there, we also saw it swallow a few times.  Seriously, it is the sweetest little nugget EVA!  So, all of the important things are checking out… approx. weight 11 oz. length, 10.5 inches. “Okay, lets move on to the good stuff”  says the ob.  I think thats when I held my breath trying to will it one last time to be a boy.  Well, after a few checks from several different angles we are 100%  having a BOY! 🙂  I cried.  (hell I’ve been crying all day) I wasn’t looking at Mike but I could feel his smile.   The rest of the appointment was in one ear out the other, I think that’s why they do all of the important stuff first.   He is so perfect,  somehow today changed everything.   I’m no longer having a baby, I have a son.  Immediately my it turned into a he.   I love him,  I loved “it” too but having a more defined title makes it all new and more real than ever.

 I can’t wait to meet our boy, I hope he is just like his Daddy!  I can’t wait for dump-trucks, dirt, frogs and holy crap you have to circumcise this kind!  Bring it baby, Mamma’s ready!

 Here he is! It’s a picture of the picture so not all that clear.

And me happy and round.

Mike cut my head off and I’m working the red eye,  soon this site will be nominated for it’s stellar photography!

13 thoughts on “20 Weeks and what a day!

  1. Wonderful news! Having a boy is so much fun. Apart from the jumping off everything and getting mysterious black eyes. Gabe has a shiner right now and I have no clue how he got it. It’s a doozey too. I am currently listening to Gabe “read” his Cars book (instead of sleeping). It’s the cutest thing in the entire world. Congrats! I’m glad you posted a picture of yourself. You look lovely.
    -Shelley

  2. I “heart” him. I’m so excited for you guys, I can’t wait to meet your little son.

    xoxoxoxo

  3. Yea!!! I am so excited for you! I kept checking back all day waiting to hear the news! Only 12 more weeks for me, I can’t wait to know.

    Did you go register afterwards?

  4. I LOVE you and I LOVVVEE him! I never knew what you were feeling as the “Auntie/ Annie” to be but I tell you this- I feel it now!!!!!!!!! Can not wait to see you!

  5. Congrats, I remember when you guys were here in March you mentioned wanting a boy too, nice work Mike! ….Of course, now I know what to get you guys –I hope it’s still there. 🙂

    A few good things about boys>
    (a) you don’t have to worry about keeping him off the pole. (Chris Rock reference).
    (b) When you have a boy, you need to watch a boy, when you have a girl you need to watch ALL the boys.
    (c) most are cool
    (d) I was a boy, so that means we already have something in common!

    Anywho, congrats!
    ~DaLaZ
    PS–I leave for Hungary tomorrow morning (see: http://danube.com/courses/16) so I probably wont be posting for a few weeks!

  6. Oh My God, you look fantastic. FANTASTIC. Way more stylish and hot than I ever looked when I was knocked up.

    And he is going to be adorable. And fun. And smart. And you will lay down and die for him, even after he pees in your face and poops in the tub.

    I am so excited for you!

  7. Wow, even though we are 1000 miles apart this site makes me feel like i am right there with you. Sue and I are so happy for you and mike!

  8. Hi Little Mama!!! I heard the good news while I was in Iowa. Grandpa just can’t keep a secret 🙂
    I am so excited for you. It is so cool when you have a wish and it comes true. Tell him I love him!!!too!!
    Love you,
    Grandma

Leave a Reply

