Ta-da!

The kitchen is done and I’m so happy with it.  My pregnant little self rocked this task. I was pretty achy in the evening since it took the entire day (9:30am-5pm) because it needed two coats.    We love it, it is so sunny and warm now.  Here are the before (taken in January) and the after’s.

Apologies from the photographer, these are not very good pictures.

I would still like to add a tile back splash, get new appliances and refinish the cabinets in a darker stain but the paint was the easiest first step.   I’m sure it will take years to get it “finished” but I love the process so that’s okay with me. 

I picked out the lighting I want for the exterior while my paint was being mixed.  I didn’t buy them though, I figured I would wait until next weekend to tell Mike how much my next project would cost him.  Ha-ha!  They aren’t expensive at all, I just know one thing at a time is best.  Plus he keeps reminding me of the horribly mundane items that I keep putting off, like buying a fire extinguisher.  

Next up- Project Baby Room!   Ultrasound?  DAY AFTER TOMORROW! 🙂

Edit:  I won’t be telling the results of the ultrasound right away, assuming nugget shows us the goods. I have a few family members and friends I have to tell before I post it here.  However, my apointment is at 8am eastern so I should have the word here by 12 noon !  Was feeling boy at my 9 wk u/s,  that’s passed now.  I have no feeling whatsoever.  I just can’t wait for the suprise.

9 thoughts on “Ta-da!

  1. Wow, the kitchen is great! Way to go you!! Am looking forward to hearing about your unltrasound… do you have an inkling whether it’s a boy or a girl? I’m guessing girl… no reason, just for fun!!

  2. Looks great! Can’t wait to hear what the little bundle will be. I was 100% sure Noodle was a boy and started crying when they said girl. Hubs and the tech both thought something was wrong with me!

  3. Wow, that is a huge improvement —

    cabinets in a darker stain…? Really? Have you thought of painting them white? Might go nicely with the yellow.

    Excited that you’re blogging about it, maybe I can learn stuff too.

    Gator and I just got back from Germany and Austria — here are the annotated pics: http://picasaweb.google.com/szalvay

    Next week I leave for Budapest.

  4. Hello Pennells! This is such a cool idea! We’ve often wondered how things were going and I’m so glad you’re feeling well. I’m wondering if you’ve heard the sex of the baby now? Your kitchen looks awesome – I love the paint colors. I’m also in love with your baby furniture. Where did you buy your set if you don’t mind my asking? I love how it’s cute and classy looking – not too cutesy or silly. I’m so sorry they’re still putting bows and stupid things on maternity clothes. That is completely ridiculous! I have not had kids, but I can’t see myself sudding feeling the urge to don ribbons and jean shorts. We miss you guys and hope everything is going well for you!

    p.s. Have you registered by any chance? If not, do you have an idea where you might register?

Leave a Reply

