May Day

It’s May first and I always remember Heidi today.  Growing up we had to be the most obnoxious kids on the block.  But not on May day.  When we were small, every year we would make bouquets of dandelions and buttercups and any other flowering weed we could find in the woods.  We would make one for all of the neighbors, lay one on the doorstep, ring the bell and run away.  Giggling loudly.  I have no idea why this was so fun, or why giving weeds was considered nice but we never missed a year.

Today I miss my sister,  if I lived close enough you could bet on finding a nice gathering of garbage flowers from the field next door, right on your doorstep, bugs and all!  Also a safe bet, I’d be ducking off to the side laughing hysterically.

 Love  you Heid-

2 thoughts on “May Day

  1. My sister and I used to do the same thing. So glad someone else relates – no one I’ve talked to in the last 20 years has a clue about May Day traditions… Maybe they all lived in scary neighborhoods growing up.

  2. Funny enough, I thought of you on this day too 🙂 I was going to bring flowers to some people and never did. I love you. Maybe one year our kids can carry out the silly tradition together. WE can only hope !
    Love you,
    Heidi

Leave a Reply

